The July council meeting served as a transition meeting where new council members were welcomed (Jack Menkhorst, Jason Wagensveld, Harold DeJong, Peter Venema), and council members who have finished their term were thanked for their service (Paul Oosterhof, Andrew DeJong, Derrick Noort, John Knier).

- Council received a list of names from the denominational head office of retired ministers who may be willing to serve as an interim pastor. After contacting each of them, four of these individuals expressed interest in filling the position. Council tasked a couple of council members to recommend an interim pastor to employ as soon as possible, recognizing that this process will still take some time.
- Council has also further explored the possibility of hiring a Specialized Transitional Minister (STM). As a reminder, STM's are experienced pastors trained by the CRC to help congregations deal with challenging times of transition. These pastors provide strategic assistance when churches need help with both regular pastoral duties and the processing of key systemic dynamics in preparation for calling a new pastor. The only possibility of employing a STM for us is Rev. Bernie Bakker, who is currently employed at Dixon's Corners CRC until October 2017. Without formally offering the position, discussion is ongoing regarding employment once his time in Dixon's Corners is complete. Rev. Bernie Bakker has expressed some interest in the position and has told us that he will prayerfully consider the possibility.
- With the updates provided regarding Interim and Specialized Transition Ministers, council is working to provide regularity and consistency from the pulpit. Though no dates are certain, it is our goal to fill the pulpit.
- Since this was the first meeting with the new council members, all council positions were reviewed and the following individuals were either elected or appointed: Chairperson: Jack Menkhorst, Vice Chairperson: Jack VanGilst, Elder to the Seniors: Harold DeJong, Youth Elder/Education Committee Rep: Jason Wagensveld, Abuse Prevention Committee Rep: Mark Geertsema, Community Service Committee Rep: Andy VanVeen, Finance and Administration Committee Rep: Mike Dewar, Worship Committee Rep: John Guthrie.